around the city

Here’s a collection of images from around New York City and Brooklyn. I sometimes give myself certain technical limitations as a challenge to myself and on this day I used only one lens and shot only in black and white. I wanted to show the story of the day: how it felt, textures of the environment, backgrounds, loved ones, strangers… the elements I often pass by without noticing, but affect me none-the-less.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“I too am returning from Zirma: my memory includes dirigibles flying in all directions, at window level; streets of shops where tattoos are drawn on sailors’ skin; underground trains crammed with obese women suffering from the humindity. My traveling companions, on the other hand, swear they saw only one dirigible hovering among the city’s spires, only one tattoo artist arranging needles and inks and pierced patterns on his bench, only one fat woman fanning herself on a train’s platform. Memory is redundant: it repeats signs so that the city can begin to exist.” – from Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

Leave a Reply

